The Secretariat.—The Permanent Secretariat is the Civil Service of the League. The staff is appointed by the Secretary General with the approval of the Council. The officials of the Secretariat of the League are exclusively international officials, having international and not national duties. The First Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond, who was named in the Annex to the Covenant, resigned in 1933 and was succeeded by M. Joseph Avenol.

The International Labour Organization.—(See Chapter XIX.)

The Permanent Court of International Justice.—The Permanent Court of International Justice was established by the Protocol of Dec. 16, 1920, in accordance with Article 14 of the Covenant of the League of Nations. It is composed of a body of fifteen judges elected by the Assembly and Council of the League of Nations for a term of nine years, and sits at The Hague. The Court is competent to hear and determine any dispute of an international character that the parties thereto submit to it; it may also give an advisory opinion upon any dispute or question referred to it by the Council or the Assembly. Canada has been a member of the Court from its establishment.

Membership of the League of Nations.—The States that are members of the League (January, 1940) are as follows:—

Afghanistan Estonia Norway Union of South Africa Ethiopia Panama Peru1 Finland Albania1 Argentine Republic France Poland Portugal Australia Greece Roumania Haiti Belgium Hungary1 Siam Bolivia Spain1 India Bulgaria Sweden Canada Iran Switzerland Chile1 Iraq Ireland (Eire) Turkey China United Kingdom of Great Colombia Latvia Britain and Northern Cuba Liberia Ireland Czechoslovakia Lithuania Luxemburg Uruguay Denmark Venezuela¹ Mexico Dominican Republic Netherlands Yugoslavia Ecuador New Zealand Egypt

¹ Chile, on June 2, 1938, gave notice of her intention to withdraw from the League. Venezuela gave such notice on July 11, 1938; Peru on Apr. 8, 1939; Hungary on Apr. 11, 1939; Albania on Apr. 13, 1939; and Spain on May 8, 1939. The notices cannot take effect until two years after they are given.